Into the Deep End…

Today, I swam laps across the deep end of the pool until my muscles ached.  It seems like such a small thing, particularly as it only took about ten laps to leave me feeling like I’d crossed the English Channel.   There was no cheering squad, no medals, no fanfare. The lack of applause didn’t stop me from feeling a sense of accomplishment.

Why is this a big deal? Why, Aisling, are you telling us that you’ve done the same thing that a few thousand other people have done today?

I have been out of the deep end for the better part of the last two years- both in the context of the pool and my practice.  Physical incapacitation has kept me away from much of my normal routine, but today, I am declaring war on the pain and trepidation that was keeping me in shallow waters. I am, quiet officially, sick of being sick and of being held back.  I love playing in the water, just as I love the work I do on my path.

Today I swam laps across the deep end.  Tomorrow, I am doing a ritual for a friend who lost his grandfather this past week.  Forget treading water, I’m diving into the deep end again.. and I couldn’t be happier to be there.

 

 

Leave a Reply

