Defense Against the Disco Arts (PBP Week 8)

Things do not always go as planned when you’re learning new ideas and techniques.  When things go wrong, it can be serendipitous, humorous, or horrifying.  The story that follows may be a bit of all of these, depending on your outlook… and your opinions about disco.

A few eons ago, I took an energy work class at the local metaphysical shop. The instructor asked the group to envision themselves surrounded by a sphere of shiny, reflective energy that sent negativity bouncing back to its source.  Maybe it was the 70’s themed fundraiser I’d attended the night before.  Maybe it was a mischievous muse at work.  Maybe I just have a warped imagination.  In any case, a mirror-ball,  à la the disco era, popped into my head. Somehow, I managed to keep from laughing out loud.
Disco ball in blue
Unfortunately, the instructor chose that moment to suggest that we pick something to associate with that energy bubble, to make it easier to generate that protective shield whenever it was needed.  If you’re struggling, she suggested, pick a theme song and a confident person.  Imagine, she continued, that you are that person walking confidently down the street, your theme song playing, while your unseen energy shield surrounds you.

Gods help me, but the only thing that popped into my mind was the opening scene from Saturday Night Fever, complete with John Travolta strutting down the street to the Bee Gees’ “Stayin’ Alive”.  And so the giggling started.  The laughter ended when she asked me to leave for being disruptive because she did not see the humor in the disco imagery.  As I recall, she guaranteed that I would never successfully do any form of energy until I learned to give it the appropriate respect and seriousness.  At the time, I agreed with her and  felt like I’d somehow fundamentally failed to grasp the simplest of concepts.

What I failed to realize at the time, and the instructor probably still hasn’t realized, is that humor is a powerful tool for deflecting negativity. I’d go so far to  say that humor can actually be used to strengthen energy work.  In spite of her prediction of failure, I have managed to master the fine art of the bubble shield.  Years later, the mirror-ball is still my visual of choice and yes, I do occasionally find myself humming a certain disco song when actively reinforcing those shields.

5 thoughts on “Defense Against the Disco Arts (PBP Week 8)

  1. Catherine

    This made me laugh so hard! Also, screw that teacher. Everyone does what they do in their own way.

    Thanks to you, I think I’ll develop a disco mirror ball shield of my own now. But, I think my song will be dancing queen.

  2. Love this! I probably would’ve had Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survive” in my head, but it wouldn’t have been as funny.

    Not loving the teacher, though. Have to agree with Tana about people who take themselves too seriously.

  3. That was not a very good teacher.
    Folks who take themselves and what they do too seriously are boring.
    And they miss a lot of the nuances.

Leave a Reply

