Witchy Blog Award – I’d Like to Thank The Academy

I’ve been a bit slow in getting this one up, but here goes…

Ashtoreth Eldritch left a pleasant surprise comment on my one of my previous posts, letting me know that she’d given me The Witchy Blog award.  I am humbled by the recognition and her kind words.

About the Award:  “Thus the purpose of this award is to bring positive recognition to those bloggers who share their experiences on the less-traveled path, whether in the form of a journal or by standing up for themselves and others. Our award logo was a collaborate endeavor made with love that we are both very proud of. So without any further ado, onward to the details of the newest award to find its way to the blogsphere!”

The Rules:

  • Post the award logo within your blog post
  • Thank the blogger who passed the award to you
  • Answer the seven questions below
  • Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can)
  • Notify your nominees of their pending award
  • Give a short description of the blog/blogger and why you nominated them
  • Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner and Book of Shadows to add your name to the list of bloggers awarded
  • You may customize the questions as long as they are still Wiccan- and Pagan-related

Seven Questions:

  • How did you “discover” Wicca/witchcraft? – I was aware of the Craft long before I ever knew it had a name.  A friend loaned me Cunningham’s Earth Power in high school and that’s when I “discovered” the Craft.  That was my “aha” moment, realizing that what I’d been doing had a name.  
  • Do you grow herbs? – Absolutely!  I’ve kept herb gardens for several years and brew up my own herbal incenses and teas.
  • Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your coming out experience.  – Yes and no with a  dash of maybe.  I am out where I need to be, in where it simply makes life flow more smoothly.  In the name of family harmony within my largely Conservative Christian/Catholic family, I don’t talk about my spiritual path with most of the family.  For the few that I do talk to about it, I avoid terms like witch or pagan because they are such loaded and stereotyped terms in our culture that I think that it would cause more misunderstanding than simply explaining what I do.   In my day-to-day life, I neither blatantly advertise or hide my path.  Some people figure it out, others don’t. 
  • What tradition do you follow? – I don’t.  Sort of the point of being an eclectic pagan, isn’t it? 🙂
  • Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else?)  – I’m an eclectic seeker above all else.  I use the term pagan to describe my path because my spiritual foundations are primarily pagan or pagan-ish.  My path is probably most easily understood from a pagan/animistic framework, but pagan doesn’t quite cover all aspects of my spiritual path, as I also incorporate ideas from some non-pagan paths as well. I also use the term witch to label the threshold and herbal  work that I do.
  • How much of witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life? – More than you’d think!  My path, including the Craft, is something that I try to incorporate into my daily life.
  • Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you meet him/her and how s/he takes part in your practice (if at all) – No familiars I’m afraid, unless you want to count a cat who likes being around any kind of energy work. She doesn’t take part so much as basking in the warm glow.

My nominations are:

  1. Innocence and Immanence –  Morag Spinner’s superb blog in which she combines witchcraft, activism and brutal honesty about her own experiences.
  2. Fluid Morality – Veggiewolf has an amazing ability to tell it like it is without apology… and often does.
  3. Thoughts from a Threshold –  Jennett’s wisdom and thoughtfulness are often an inspiration to me.  She is amazingly wise beyond her years.
  4.  Nightwalkinghedgehog– Erin’s “Things I Must Remember” posts provide an interesting peek inside the daily life of a pagan.
  5. Waldhexe’s Journey – Waldhexe is a gifted German blogger who, luckily for those of us who can’t read  German, keeps an English blog about her experiences and thoughts on paganism.

While this list is only five, I just also want to say thank you and kudos to anyone who blogs about their experiences as a pagan (or witch or whatever label you use).   What you’re doing is important.  Keep up the good work!

3 thoughts on “Witchy Blog Award – I’d Like to Thank The Academy

  1. Pingback: Witchy Blog Award!!! | Waldhexe's Journey

Leave a Reply

