PBP Week 42 – The Ultimate Question

I probably should be embarrassed to admit this, but I did a gleeful and geeky happy dance when I realized that week 42 of the Pagan Blog Project would be stating with the letter “U”.  It gives me yet another excuse to tie in one of my favorite books with spiritual meanderings, which makes for a good day in my life, the universe, and everything.

Alright, I’ll stop with the random references to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  Well, I’ll mostly stop.  We still have the subject of the Ultimate Question to examine.  What is the Ultimate Question that we’re trying to answer by pursuing our religious and spiritual paths?  What is that core question that we seek to answer with our explorations?  What is the one thing that we long to know?

I must confess that I don’t have an Ultimate Question or, if I do, I have no idea what it is.  That isn’t to say I don’t have questions.  I am deep well of bubbling questions about my spiritual path, as I suspect most people are.  Usually these questions go through a similar progression, such as:

  • What is this thing (‘thing’ being some concept, idea, practice, deity, etc)?
  • How can I obtain or get the attention of this thing?
  • Why can’t I get have this or get its attention?
  • Ok, I have it now.  What do I with it?  How does this work anyway?  What does this thing want from me?
  • Now I really have it.  Is this happening the way it’s supposed to? Am I doing this right? Is this interaction happening the way it should? Have I learned everything that this thing has to teach me?
  • I have had enough of it for the next five lifetimes.  Enough already!  How do I make it stop/get rid of it?  How do I turn this thing off?  Where is the off button?  For the love of all that is good, how do I get rid of this thing?!?!
  • I’ve shed myself of it/severed ties to it.  Why is it so quiet around here? Is there anyone out there? Oh look…. what’s that thing coming up on the horizon?

Of course, none of those are the Ultimate Question.  At least, I hope they aren’t, because that would be a bit of an anti-climax in this amazing universe of possibilities in which we dwell.  Somehow, I don’t think I’ll ever have the Ultimate Question, because there are so many other questions that crop up every time I try to think about the idea of the Ultimate Question.  In fact, I wonder sometimes if that trying to find the Ultimate Question is what this whole thing is all about.  For now,  I suppose I’ll just have to content myself with knowing that I do have the Ultimate Answer.

3 thoughts on “PBP Week 42 – The Ultimate Question

  1. *geeky high five* Hooray for Hitchhiker’s Guide!

    On a serious note, my Ultimate Question is “What happens when I poke it?” It being whatever I’m paying attention to at the moment.

    No, really. ^_^

Leave a Reply

