PBP Week 35 (Belated) – Reality & Religion

I reject your reality and substitute my own.”

Yes, as a matter of fact, this is my standard response to anyone who tries to convince me of the superiority of their beliefs over my own.  Religious reality is very much a subjective thing.   For many of my friends, the ‘reality’ is that Jesus Christ is the savior of mankind and those who fail to recognize this are damned to eternal suffering.  For other friends, the ‘reality’ is that there are Four Noble Truths.  For others, the ‘reality’ is that there is no power in this universe higher than our own mind.

To me, this is the beauty of humanity… the multitude of paths that we take to find our higher selves.  This diversity of experience is something to be embraced and encouraged, in my opinion.  I believe that living in respectful harmony with others who do not share our religion (or social class or culture or language or skin color or who are otherwise different from ourselves) is in itself a path to finding our higher selves.   Who knows, by doing so, we may even learn a thing or two about our own realities.

One thought on “PBP Week 35 (Belated) – Reality & Religion

  1. This is similar to something that I believe myself: that each of us finds the truth and the path that is right for us, and what is true and real for me is not necessarily true and real for anyone else. And, for me, each is a small piece of the larger Truth that cannot be comprehended by any single human mind – so being respectful of others’ beliefs and being open to learning from them may help us to learn more of that wider “reality.”

Leave a Reply

