PBP Week 33 – Quiz Me!

No one can define your spiritual beliefs or tell you what to religion to practice… or can they?  Beliefnet has some interesting quizzes which, while to be taken with a grain of salt, could be useful in pointing to some faiths to explore (handy if you’re a seeker or developing an eclectic practice).  Here are my results from a couple of them, along with my commentary.

What’s your spiritual type?


Old-fashioned Seeker – Happy with my religion but searching for the right expression of it

Fair enough, I suppose, since that’s pretty much where I am.  There’s nothing for me to argue there…

Then there’s the Belief-o-matic, which will happily tell you which established faiths your beliefs most coincide with.  Again, probably best taken with a grain of salt, but fun to see where your beliefs stand in relation to a long list of existing religions.

Belief-o-matic

1.  Neo-Pagan (100%)
2.  Unitarian Universalism (85%)
3.  New Age (73%)
4.  Mahayana Buddhism (66%)
5.  Liberal Quakers (64%)
6.  Reform Judaism (62%)
7.  Hinduism (60%)
8.  Secular Humanism (59%)
9.  Jainism (55%)
10.  Theravada Buddhism (54%)
11.  Sikhism (52%)
12.  Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (51%)
13.  New Thought (48%)
14.  Nontheist (46%)
15.  Scientology (44%)
16.  Baha’i Faith (41%)
17.  Taoism (39%)
18.  Orthodox Judaism (35%)
19.  Orthodox Quaker (29%)
20.  Islam (28%)
21.  Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (24%)
22.  Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (17%)
23.  Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (15%)
24.  Seventh Day Adventist (15%)
25.  Eastern Orthodox (9%)
26.  Roman Catholic (9%)
27.  Jehovah’s Witness (0%)

Of course, neo-paganism is such a broad umbrella that I have to wonder how they’re quantifying it… I imagine that they’re looking for things like animism, polytheism, and nature worship.   I’m not surprised by the appearance of two forms of Buddhism and Secular Humanism near the top of the list… both have had influence on my path.  Some of the other top ones are a bit puzzling for me, like Liberal Quakers.  I admit that I know very little about this particular religion.  Even without these results, I think it’s a safe bet that I won’t become a Jehovah’s Witness in the foreseeable future.  🙂

2 thoughts on “PBP Week 33 – Quiz Me!

  1. Quizzes are fun! It says I am a spiritual straddler with one foot in traditional religion and the other in free form spirituality. I think that’s about right if the the traditional religion can be construed as any having a widely accepted structure. I admire structure, but have little myself and like it that way. 😀

    Thanks for the links!

Leave a Reply

