Path Forging – Sacred, Profane, and Mundane

I’m afraid that it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything about Path Forging (only a year to the day!).  For those of you who aren’t familiar with concept or what I’m trying to do with it, I give an explanation in my first post related to the topic.  My plan is to resume these posts as time permits, probably about one per month… two if I’m feeling really inspired. Now without further ado…

Before we can look at how the concepts of the sacred, profane, and mundane relate to path forging, I thought it might be a good idea to give a basic definition of each of the terms:

sacred: entitled to veneration or religious respect by association with divinity or divine things; holy

profane: characterized by irreverence or contempt for sacred principles or things

mundane: of the earthly world rather than the heavenly or spiritual one

  • Does your path distinguish between that which is sacred, profane, and mundane?
  • What features or characteristics distinguish between these three descriptions?
  • Can an item, person, or event change from one to another of these things?  Can it then return to its original state?
  • Do this distinction determine how some thing is treated or viewed?  For example, is something that has been deemed sacred treated with additional reverence or attention?
  • Who determines or how is it determined that something falls under one or another of these categories?

I have to admit that I struggle with these concepts as they apply to my own path. and that I joke about all things being simultaneously sacred, profane, and mundane.  As an animist, I believe that everything has a sacred soul or spirit residing within it.  And yet, I think that we are capable of living in ways that are very much mundane and occasionally profane.  I definitely have a long  way to go before I will feel comfortable in applying these ideas to my own path with any certainty.  A part of me also wonders if they’re even relevant at all  or worth questioning.  Perhaps it’s just one of those things that are to remain a mystery.

One thought on “Path Forging – Sacred, Profane, and Mundane

  1. Pingback: Ferdinand Celine, Language, and Turkeynecks « A Spoonful of Suga

Leave a Reply

