In the Eye of the Storm

Someone pointed out that it’s been awhile since I’ve written any public posts on this blog.  Doubtful, I checked.  Not only were they right, but my last public post was an explanation of the public/protected/private posts on this blog.  I realized that I hadn’t publicly posted any pertinent to spirituality -mine or anyone else’s- since February.  Ack, how did things get away from me so quickly?

The same person who reminded me of my failure to blog wondered if perhaps my silence was the result of a long, dark night of the soul and if I’d gotten lost along the way.  

Well, no actually.  My silence was more of a reflection of a greater silence, the calm in the center of the storm that I’ve been occupying for the last few months.   While things have been in general chaos around me, the universe and my Lady have seen to it that I’ve been occupying a place of deep spiritual calm and silence.  

This silence has been a mixed blessing.  It has given me time to check my progress on my path as well as my own spiritual compass (which points, not to true north, but to my true self).   The silence has  created an opportunity to examine the places and times where things have gone wrong or are still going that way.   It’s been the silence of a teacher waiting for a pupil to solve a difficult problem, patient but help only a request away.  

Time spent in the relative calm of the eye of the storm is an opportunity to regroup and prepare for the next round of chaos.  I know that it’s coming, but right now, I feel more prepared for it than I have in a long time. I can only hope that the chaos will eventually subside again and things return to an overall calm, rather than simply breaks in the tempest.  In the meantime, I’ll try to be better about blogging.  Really. 

Leave a Reply

