Organizing It All

The somewhat blurry photo above is the cumulation of two days of work to organize my herb cabinet.   In the hectic weeks of autumn, I’m afraid that I’d abandoned any effort to keep this space organized.   Empty containers remained unwashed and left on the shelves, herbs from the garden were thrown into plastic bags and tossed on top of glass bottles, labels were hastily scribbled by hand and hap-hazardously taped to jar lids.   Finding a specific herb took forever, if it could be found at all.  In other words, my herb cabinet was a bloody mess.

I think sometimes that my spiritual path starts to look like that herb cabinet did, filled with unrelated bits and pieces that have been tossed carelessly one on top of another.  Instead of taking the time to integrate new ideas as they come in and finding a place where they fit, things occasionally begin to backlog and get jumbled together.  In this  chaos, it can be hard to find what I need, to put my finger on a particular idea or concept that I know is there… somewhere.

So, I’m resolving in the coming year to first sort the current jumble of ideas and thoughts that have come up during this year.  There are spiritual-related things that happened during 2010 that I still haven’t quite found a comfortable niche for within the framework of my beliefs.  There are also old, discarded ideas that have resurfaced that require a second look.  As I integrate the logjam of spiritual happenings from this year, I’m also making a promise to do regular spiritual maintenance – whether it’s keeping up with my posts here, integrating new ideas into my framework of beliefs, or just keeping those herbs organized.  I’ll let you know how it turns out. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Organizing It All

  1. Sekhemib-Nymaatre

    I was buying jars, locally, for all of my herbal needs. However, the jars are no longer sold and I don’t know where to pick up more. Any suggestions?

    And if you want to talk mess… you should see my cabinet. :/

    1. Aisling

      Hmm, good question. I’ve purchased mine at a variety of places including yard sales, craft stores, IKEA, and World Market. Off the top of my head, your best bet would probably be Specialty Bottle. They have a large selection of styles and sizes.

  2. aisling13

    I’ve definitely had those “this is the way it is” moments only to find out, it actually wasn’t. In fact, there were a couple of those this year that I’m still puzzling through.

    Working hard to clear the mental flotsom and jetsom that 2010 has created. A daily candle meditation seems to be helping- will blog about it at some point, I’m sure.

  3. The cabinet looks really neat. 🙂
    And for organizing all the other things, hat float around ones brain… well, from time to time we need to clean out in there too. 😉

  4. Sekhemib-Nymaatre

    I think the whole spiritual path that anyone is on is a basic “do I like this? do I dislike this?” amalgam. I know that I’m always throwing tidbits over my shoulder and then, weeks later, I’ll start to re-think about them. Or, I’ll decide that this is absolutely the way it is and then change my mind because it doesn’t feel comfortable.

Leave a Reply

