Path Forging – Divine Work, Geas, and Taboos

In the last Path Forging post, the questions revolved around what it means to serve deity and what forms that service might take. For many of us, service to a deity means that not only are we expected to do work on their behalf, but also that we face one or more geas or taboos as we do so.

So, a few questions to ponder:

  • Does deity demand that you work on their behalf? If so, what is the nature of this work?
  • Does your deity have expectations of things that you will do at their request?
  • Does deity impose rules, restrictions, or limitations on your behavior and actions?
  • Are taboos or geas a part of your path?
  • Does your deity explain the reasons for such prohibitions?
  • What are the consequences of breaking one?

Although, I’ve posed only a few questions, my answers to them may take a little more space than usual. My patron goddess does indeed demand that I do “her work”, but her work in its most basic sense involves living and acting in a way that is true to my own soul. It is her will that I make the most of the gifts that I have been given and share those gifts with others in ways that are appropriate (i.e., not harmful or destructive).

In a way, it seems quite simple. Be true to my innermost self and I can’t go wrong. The problem is that being true to who I am is not always a simple matter. Like many other human beings, I don’t always know or understand what it is that my soul was born to be or to do. It can be difficult to determine if what I want to do is simply a product of logical thought or something more fundamental. Part of my inner work is to figure out, with her guidance and the aid of others, what it is that my fundamental being is meant to be doing. With her help (and those guided by her), I have come to understand that my work for her is to include teaching, healing, guiding, nurturing, protecting, and stewarding. This does not mean that my vocation needs to be one of doctor, peace officer, or teacher. It simply means that I must find my own ways to do these things as a part of my day-to-day existence.

There are geas that affect what I do, but for the most part, they aren’t open for public discussion (a geis about geas!). Sometimes the reasoning behind them is explained and sometimes it is not. Many take the form of “I (Herself) will allow a, b, or c… if you abide by rules x, y, and z.” I am, for example, allowed to exercise whatever mediumship abilities that I may have, but there are things that I must heed in order to continue to do so: 1. This gift may not be used solely for my own profit, 2. I must help those She sends to me who need assistance in matters regarding spirits and hauntings, and 3. I cannot seek out or initiate contact with certain souls that I’ve known in this life. The penalty for failing to follow these rules is that I temporarily lose the ability to sense, see, and communicate with those who have passed. Yep, my life gets weirdly complicated at times. 🙂

One thought on “Path Forging – Divine Work, Geas, and Taboos

  1. Pingback: Path Forging – Prohibitions, Taboos, and Restrictions « In the Grey Mists

Leave a Reply

