‘Tis the Season

‘Tis the Season… but for what exactly?

One thing is for certain: it’s the time of year when folks start quibbling about the true nature of the holiday season. Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus. Yes, pagans, Jesus is one of the reasons for the season. Yes, Christians, yule time celebrations predate Christianity. Yes, everyone, there is a Hanukkah, Bodhi Day, Eid al Adha, Kwanzaa, solstice, Yule/Litha, Christmas, and other religious and cultural holidays in the month of December.

I won’t get drawn into the usual debates which just seem to boil down to who has the right to claim this time of year as their own. We all do, every one of us. My beliefs are my own, just as yours belong to you. I respect your right as a human being to celebrate your beliefs and embrace that which is important to you. I only ask that you will do the same. You don’t have to agree with me, nor I with you. Disagreement does not, however, require conflict.

So, I want to wish everyone a happy season, regardless of what they celebrate. I hope that you will find peace and joy in whatever holiday you embrace as your own. May the season find you well and if not well, then on the mend. Blessings all!

Leave a Reply

