PBP Week 18 (Belated) – Intolerance

You can safely assume that you’ve created God in your own image, when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.” ~ Anne Lamott

For those of us who care about such things, it’ s been rather hard to miss the religion-related intolerance that’s plagued the States since long before they became united (Smithsonian article on the subject) . Today, groups like Westboro Baptist Church spew out a virulent message of hate against nearly everyone who isn’t one of their own.  Preachers in my own state have recently come out with messages of utter hatred against the GLBT community, including suggestions that children showing effeminate behaviors be subject to physical abuse by their parents and that gays and lesbians be rounded into concentration camps and allowed to “die off.”  There are other examples out there, but these few are enough to make me want to vomit.

Intolerance

Intolerance (Photo credit: paul.orear)

Thankfully, there are people out there who are willing to speak against these kinds of institutionalized intolerance and hatred.  Josef Miles, a 9-year old who faced down Westboro members with his own “God Hates No One” sign, is my personal pint-sized  hero.  Dan Pearce’s “I’m Gay Unless You’re Christian” does a great job of tackling the subject of intolerance.  Again, there are other examples out there (sans vomit this time), but these were a couple that sprang to mind.

While the examples of both intolerance and responses against it are of a Christian perspective, pagans are not exempt from these kinds of battles.  We don’t need to look far for examples of members of various pagan groups who have sent out messages of hate and intolerance.  As individuals, we have to decide where we stand on the subject and if we’re willing to speak out either for or against these kinds of intolerance and blanket statements of hatred.

My personal take on it is this… To be hateful or intolerant toward any group would be a failure on my part to acknowledge my own belief that we are all connected and all a part of a greater divinity. To presume I can speak for my gods would be an act of extreme hubris on my part; to claim that my own prejudices are actually the feelings of my gods would be something well past the boundaries of simple arrogance . In short, there’s not a lot of room in my own beliefs for this kind of bigotry.

Yet I am a human being and not exempt from being intolerant or hateful.  As much as I embrace social justice and equality, I am quite capable of harboring hatred.  I am not exempt from my own prejudices and fears. I can, however, choose to recognize them for what they are and try to move beyond them.  I can choose to embrace an attitude of openness and love toward others.  I can choose to take a stand against those who would crush others for their differences.  For me, this is what it means to be a spiritual being – recognizing those unpretty aspects of myself and finding ways to rise above them.

Categories: Aisling's Personal Journey, Paganism in Practice | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “PBP Week 18 (Belated) – Intolerance

  1. The quote is priceless. +1

    • Aisling

      Agreed, Tana. When I started the PBP posts, I knew that quote would end up somewhere among them.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Amoeba Kat Musings

blogging in between sunbeam naps

Loki's Bruid

Tales of a Lokean Swamp Witch

Lily, Lion, Labyrinth

The Inner World behind the Outer Expression of a Pagan Artist

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

ON THE RIVERS

A polytheist pagan blog

Light within the Shadows

not lost any more

Inspiring Rainbow

My life musings and religious explorations

rocquelaire

Thoughts on a different way of living

Volkhvy

My bumbling journey to become a Volkhv

Writ, Ritual, and Revelation

A Flashlight into the Attic of my Mind

Treasure in Barren Places

Gaelic Polytheism & Druidry in the City

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

Sekhtet

the weaver and her webs, the ocean and the sky

Circle of Stars

Everything was written in the stars-for those who know to look there.

Notes from the Underground

Draconian Poetry & Mythic Wanderings

findingtheowl

One mans journey to wisdom and spirituality

musings of a kitchen witch

thoughts on parenting, paganism, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

